Never any time

It’s a real bugger really.

Work.

Don’t get me wrong, I actually quie like my job.  In fact I mostly enjoy it.  The work can be fun and rewarding and of course it has that essential ingredient of a wage.

I am actually one of those people who is pretty happy during the morning commute, having a read, looking forward to the day, sipping my thermal mug of tea, flicking through an astronomy magazine.

But it has one major draw back.  It gets in the way of the things I enjoy the most.  It gets in the way of family, which is a pain frankly.  While I enjoy working with kids, i would love more time than the couple of hours a day when shes ratty and tired I get with mine and I of course would dearly love more time with my wife.  But work is work and food, clothing and a house need paying for.

It also gets in the way of astronomy.  I was moaning this week that I haven’t been outside with my scope by myself for a couple of months.  Now partly this has been down to the worst summer for 100 years, but lately I’ve been too bloody knackered to go out.  Perfect nights, great moon and my scope has sat untouched and my sketch pad has stayed on the shelf.

Time for another early night.  Hopefully soon I will finally get outside and do what I love- if nothing else the nights are drawing in so astronomy can begin at a work friendly hour!

Or maybe I should take up a more work friendly hobby….

About astronomersden

Daddy, Hubby, Teacher and when ever I get the chance Astronomer.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Bored, Telescope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Never any time

  1. rthepotter says:

    I know all about having no time/being too tired – but where are you getting those perfect nights from?!?

  2. DavidH says:

    So it isn’t just me! I am so often completely knackered in the evenings and early morning starts force me to bed quite early especially midweek. I always imagined that all the other astronomers I knew were always out observing every clear night and I was the only one snoozing on the sofa by 9pm! I also sometimes feel slightly guilty disappearing outside all evening to leave my wife with just the cat for company. Come to think of it the cat usually joins be in the garden and chases the red torch beam around while I’m trying to align the scope with misted up reading glasses….

Leave a Reply

