Finally!

Weeks.  Months really.

Don’t get me wrong, I like social astronomy.  I love a good astro-conversation over the top of a cool scope.  I can wax lyrical about stars and stuff for hours.

But last night I sat under a clear sky, alone with my scope for the first time in 3 months. I have been out socially, sharing astronomy with others but not this, not the quiet, personal solitude of observing, sketch book in hand. No questions, no chit-chat, no astronomy small talk.

Just me and the sky.

I’m in Cornwall, dark, quiet, laid back. The bleet of goats, the hoot of owls and no street lights…no sodium glow, no sirens, no heavy traffic. London could be another world. And the sky…

Despite being bathed in the soft glow of an almost full moon the Milky Way was apparent, the Andromeda Galaxy was easily found and my scope was easliy revealing the Dumbbell Nebula, M27.

But the moon was king and after a small deep sky tour I began to sketch. Nothing spectacular, to be honest I’ve not seriously skectched the moon for months, three sketches flowed, with long periods of just exploration, searching the surface from limb to terminator.

Crater Bailly and Mare Australe

Crater Bailly on Terminator and Mare Australe

The deep craters filled with ice cold black, bright white rays stretching for miles across the pit marked surface, the irregular sunlit outlines of mountains against the black of space, the endless and subtle variation of of shading across the mare.

Crater Schickard

Crater Schickard

And silence.  I need to do this more often.

About astronomersden

Daddy, Hubby, Teacher and when ever I get the chance Astronomer.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Moon, Pencil, Sodium Lights, The Astronomer's Den and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally!

  1. Great blog and Awesome sketches! Love the shading! Wish I could sketch like this! What eyepiece did you use for it? I’m planning on expanding my set (if I can call it that) of a 24mm and 10mm plossl…And hey, it’ll be great if you could check my blog out as well!

    • Very nice blog! Skething is practice, start simple and have fun. Eyepieces- well depends on your scope, i would recomend a Barlow lens, that automatically doubles the number of eyepieces as you can put the two you own already into it and change their power.

Leave a Reply

